

Building No. 6, Ext 2, No. 7 Government Boulevard, Riverside Park, Mbombela, 1200, Mpumalanga Province Private Bag X11304, Mbombela, 1200. Int Tel: +27 (13) 766 6087, Tel: (013) 766 6087 Int: Fax: +27 (13) 766 8252, Fax: (013) 766 8252

Litiko Lekubusa ngekubambisana netebuholi bendzabuko Departement van Koöperatiewe Regering en Tradisionele Sake umNyango wezekuBusa ngokuHlanganyela neeNdaba zamaKhosi

MEDIA ADVISORY

All Editors All Media Houses

MEC MTSHWENI CONGRATULATES THE NEW MPHTL LEADERSHIP

MEC for Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA) Ms. Refilwe Mtshweni has congratulated the newly elected executive members of the Mpumalanga House of Traditional Leaders. Elections for the new executive members took place today at the Mpumalanga Provincial Legislature. The elections of the new executive marks the beginning of a new five year term and involved the participation of Amakhosi from the three districts in Mpumalanga.

Ms Mtshweni expressed confidence that the new leadership will strengthen the partnership between the provincial government and the institution of traditional leadership in Mpumalanga in pursuit of a goal to improve the lives of communities in tribal areas. "Communities in tribal areas bear the brunt of unfavourable economic conditions. As we pursue efforts to improve their lives and the delivery of basic services, traditional leaders are a crucial lever for these efforts to produce the desired results. We look forward to the new executive in this term to advance the gains made by the previous executive," Ms Mtshweni said.

Ms Mtshweni commended the role of the previous executive members led by the former Chairperson, Kgoshi Lameck Mokoena for strengthening the role of traditional leaders in the promotion of cultural practices and working closely with the Provincial and Local Government spheres in the implementation of developmental projects for tribal communities.

Members of the new executive are:

- 1. Inkhosi Sandile Ngomane (Chairperson)
- 2. Ikosi Cecil Mahlangu (Deputy Chairperson)
- 3. Kgosikgadi Anastacia Mohlala



- 4. Ikosi William Mahlangu
- 5. Inkhosi Bheki Mnisi.

Issued by the Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Contact Person: Mr George Mthethwa Contact number: 013 766 6572 / 083 302 2774 E-mail: <u>gpmthethwa@mpg.gov.za</u> Date: 02 August 2017